Defending champs are ready to play ball at TO2015

Feature: Team Canada at Guadalajara 2011 (Photo by: Baseball Canada)  

The reigning Pan Am Champions are ready to hit the field after Baseball Canada announced its TO2015 men’s team.

In 2011, the Canadian baseball team won gold after returning to Pan Am Games for the first time since 1999. This year’s roster features eight players who were part of Canada’s gold medal comeback in Guadalajara: Andrew Albers, Shawn Hill, Brock Kjeldgaard, Kyle Lotzkar, Dustin Molleken, Chris Robinson, Tim Smith and Skyler Stromsmoe.

RELATED: Canada’s full TO2015 men’s baseball team    

Coming off a Pan Am victory the team sets out to do it again in front of a home crowd. The battle for the men’s baseball title will take place July 11-19 at the Pan Am Ballpark in Ajax (get tickets).

Brock Kjeldgaard (Photo by: Baseball Canada)

Brock Kjeldgaard (Photo by: Baseball Canada)

“I am extremely honoured to represent Team Canada this year at the Pan American Games in Toronto. International baseball is always intense and with the Games taking place at home, in front of our own fans, the atmosphere will be electric at the ballpark,” shared Hill, men’s national team member.

Team Canada at TO2015 athletes list

Before hitting the ballpark at Pan Am the team will head to Cary, North Carolina to compete in the Americas Baseball Festival from July 5-8.

The seven baseball teams – Canada, Colombia, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Nicaragua, Puerto Rico and United States – will play round robin matches against each other before the top four advance to the semifinals to play for medals.