Release: Olympic Hall of Fame Inductees Announced

April 2, 2014
For immediate release

Three co-chairs and 14 inductees to take part in Hall of Fame Gala in Calgary

CALGARY – Today, the Canadian Olympic Committee announced the co-chairs and inductees who will take part in the 2014 Canadian Olympic Hall of Fame Gala and Induction Ceremony presented by RBC, which will take place in the city of Calgary.

Co-chairs named include Steve Williams, President and CEO of Suncor; Doug Mitchell, National Co-Chairman of BLG and Canadian Olympic Foundation Board Member; and Ken King, President and Chief Executive Officer of the Calgary Flames.

The 2014 Canadian Olympic Hall of Fame inductees include: Kyle Shewfelt, three-time Olympian and Olympic gold medallist; Cindy Klassen three-time Olympian and six-time Olympic medallist; the Beijing 2008 Men’s 8 Rowing Team; Marcel Lacroix, speed skating coach; Ralph Klein, former Premier of Alberta; Pat Quinn, ice hockey coach; and Richard Garneau, sport journalist who covered 23 Olympic Games. The co-chairs and inductees were revealed during a press conference at the Suncor Energy Centre in Calgary.

“It is such an honour to be named as an inductee to the Canadian Olympic Hall of Fame,” said Kyle Shewfelt, three-time Olympian, Athens 2004 Olympic gold medallist. “It had been my dream to compete as an Olympian for as long as I could remember, so to be recognized in this way for my Olympic accomplishments is so special.”

The Canadian Olympic Hall of Fame Gala and Induction Ceremony form part of the Celebration of Excellence, a 3-day celebration (June 4th – 6th ) to celebrate Canada’s tremendous successes within the Olympic Movement.

“We are thrilled to welcome our co-chairs and inductees for the 2014 Canadian Olympic Hall of Fame Gala, an event that raises money for both our Olympians and a coaches legacy fund in Calgary,” said Marcel Aubut, President, Canadian Olympic Committee. “Alongside our distinguished co-chairs, we are looking forward to honouring the outstanding achievements of those who have provided invaluable contributions to the Olympic Movement in Canada.”

“The Hall of Fame Gala is a fantastic event that helps recognize the achievements of Canada’s Olympians, coaches and builders,” said Doug Mitchell, Olympic Hall of Fame Co-Chair and Canadian Olympic Committee Board Member. “It is an honour to join my fellow co-chairs for such an important initiative.”

The Sochi 2014 Canadian Olympic and Paralympic Teams will be making public appearances starting on June 4th at Ottawa-area schools and hospitals as well as the House of Commons. The Heroes Tour, consisting of school and hospital visits, will be making its way through Calgary, Banff and Edmonton on June 5th; and the post-Sochi Canadian Olympic Hall of Fame Gala, Induction Ceremony and Parade will be hosted by the City of Calgary on June 6th.

Proceeds from the Hall of Fame Gala in Calgary will go to the Canadian Olympic Foundation as well as a legacy coaching program in Calgary to support the next generation of Olympians. The 2012 Hall of Fame Gala in Toronto raised more than $3 million for high performance sport and athletes in Canada.

For more information on the 2014 Canadian Olympic Hall of Fame Gala and Induction Ceremony, please visit:


About the Canadian Olympic Foundation:
Established in 2007, the Canadian Olympic Foundation gives to priority partners that drive high performance athletic achievement for Canada’s Olympic podium potentials and for our next generation of Olympic athletes. The Foundation also funds athlete, coaching, and sport awards and scholarships. Learn more at

Canadian Olympic Committee Media Office:
Jane Almeida, Senior Manager, Media Relations
Tel: 416-324-4120 / Cell: 416-540-1788

Luc Beaudin, Coordinator, Communications and Media Relations
Cell: 514-206-6720



Athlete Category
Kyle Shewfelt – Artistic Gymnastics. 2000; 2004 (gold); 2008

Cindy Klassen – Long Track Speed Skating. 2002 (bronze); 2006 (1 gold; 2 silver; 2 bronze); 2010

Athlete Team Category
Men’s Eight Rowing Crew. 2008 (gold)

Coach Category
Marcel Lacroix – Speed Skating

Builder Category
Ralph Klein – former Premier of Alberta; instrumental in the bid for and hosting of the 1988 Olympic Winter Games

Pat Quinn – Ice Hockey (coach; 2002 (gold); 2006)

Canadian Olympic Order
Richard Garneau – Sport journalist; covered 23 Olympic Games and 4 Pan American Games

Follow us on Twitter