Wayne Pretty,fourth from left, with the 1956 Olympic silver medal winning eights team

Carlton Ogawa

golden leaf icon for Hall of Fame

Médailles d’Équipe Canada

Gold medal icon 0
Silver medal icon 1
Bronze medal icon 0


When the University of British Columbia’s rowing eights crew was chosen to represent Canada at Melbourne 1956, Carlton Susumi Ogawa was their coxswain. Only half of the crew had any real rowing experience and with only a year to prepare for the Games, a competitive team was rebuilt and challenged for the Olympic gold medal. Coxswain Ogawa won a silver medal for Canada, behind the Americans by only two seconds, with teammates David Helliwell, Philip Kueber, Richard McClure, Douglas McDonald, Bill McKerlich Donald Pretty, Lawrence West and Robert Wilson. Ogawa became the first Asian-Canadian to win an Olympic medal.

Ogawa’s start in rowing came soon after entering UBC in 1964 joining the team as the coxswain for the eights crew. His first international competition was at the 1955 Henley Royal Regatta where he first became known on the international stage. 

Along with this Olympic silver medal-winning crew, Ogawa was inducted into the Canadian Olympic Hall of Fame in 1958, British Columbia Sports Hall of Fame in 1976, and University of British Columbia Sports Hall of Fame in 2010.

Faits saillants olympiques

Jeux Sport Épreuve Rang
1956 Melbourne RowingCoxed Eight - MenSilver