Bruny Surin celebrates with his arm in the air

Brunet, Surin, Auch Lead 2010 Inductees into Canadian Olympic Hall of Fame

Jack Poole to Receive Canadian Olympic Order

On the heels of what promises to be a memorable and historic Olympic Winter Games in 2010, the Canadian Olympic Committee (COC) will honour some of its most distinguished Olympic athletes, coaches and builders at the Canadian Olympic Hall of Fame Gala Dinner & Induction Ceremony in Montreal on Friday, April 23. An exemplary class of three athletes, three builders and one coach are being inducted while two heralded leaders will receive the Canadian Olympic Order.

For more than 60 years, the COC has proudly honoured individuals who have made a significant impact on the Olympic Movement. The 2010 Canadian Olympic Hall of Fame inductees are kayaker Caroline Brunet, sprinter Bruny Surin, speed skater Susan Auch, builders Walter Sieber, Peter Lougheed and Carol Anne Letheren (posthumously), and athletics coach Paul Poce.

Former VANOC Chairman Jack Poole will receive the Canadian Olympic Order (posthumously).

“We are also proud to recognize this incredible class of inductees as they’ve all done so much for the Canadian sport community,” said COC president Michael Chambers. “Each of them richly deserves this great distinction.”

Returning to Montreal for the first time since 2004, the gala event will be hosted at the Bell Centre and include a full artistic program featuring prominent Canadian performers (to be announced at a later date).

Weeks after the Vancouver Games come to a close, the COC’s prestigious annual event will celebrate the 2010 Olympians – all of whom are invited to Montreal. The evening will mark the first gathering following the historic Games of all the prominent sport leaders and bodies involved in Canada’s sports system.

The weekend events culminate with Quebec native Marcel Aubut assuming the presidency following the COC’s annual Session Meetings.

All proceeds from the 2010 Canadian Olympic Hall of Fame Gala Dinner & Induction Ceremony will benefit the Canadian Olympic Team. Tickets and details are available by contacting Rebecca Lerner (, 416-324-4303).

2010 Inductees
The Canadian Olympic Hall of Fame recognizes those who have served the cause of the Olympic Movement with distinction. The 2010 inductees are:

Caroline Brunet, a five-time Olympian in kayaking, and one of only 13 athletes to win medals at three successive Olympic Games in the same event. The Quebec native competed solely in the K-1 500 metres, collecting two silvers and a bronze medal between 1996 and 2004. She was a world champion 10 times over and amassed 21 World Championship medals throughout her career. Brunet led the Canadian Olympic Team into the Sydney 2000 Olympic Games as Opening Ceremony flag bearer.

Bruny Surin, a four-time Olympian and 1996 gold medallist in the men’s 4×100-metre relay. Competing in each Games from 1988 to 2000, Surin was also an Olympic long jumper and 100-metre sprinter. The 1996 relay team is one of Canada’s most historic sport moments and he shares the gold medal with Glenroy Gilbert, Donovan Bailey, Robert Esmie and Carlton Chambers. Surin is also the 1993 and 1995 world indoor champion in 60 metres. Outdoors, he won five World Championship medals in the relay and the 100 metres.

Susan Auch, who competed in speed skating at five Olympic Winter Games. Her first Olympic experience was in short track in 1988, where in Calgary it was a demonstration sport. She won bronze there in the 3,000-metre relay. Soon after, the Winnipeg native switched to long track and dominated with six national sprint titles and two Olympic silver medals in the 500 metres.

Walter Sieber, a world-renowned expert in the organization of major sporting events. He currently sits on the board of both the COC and VANOC. Siebert was director general of sports for the Montreal 1976 Olympic Games and has been deeply involved in the Olympic Movement since.

Peter Lougheed, Premier of Alberta from 1971 to 1985, during which time he was instrumental in developing the Bid for the Calgary 1988 Olympic Winter Games. Lougheed served as Honourary Chair of the Calgary Organizing Committee, as well as several other important roles. In 2000, he was awarded the Canadian Olympic Order.

Carol Anne Letheren, president of the (then) Canadian Olympic Association 1990-94 and Chief Executive Officer from 1995 until her death in 2001. That year, she was awarded the Canadian Olympic Order (posthumously). Letheren, who was also an IOC Member in Canada from 1990 to the time of her passing, is now also being inducted into the Canadian Olympic Hall of Fame. She was an ambassador in the advancement of women in sport and in the Canadian Olympic Movement.

Paul Poce, athletics coach, founded the distinguished Toronto Olympic Club, the city’s oldest running club, in 1954. He is their current head coach and club administrator while also having served as national team head coach at several major Games including the Olympic, Pan American and Commonwealth Games. Poce was personal coach to many national team athletes, including John Craig, Paul Craig and Jerome Drayton.

Jack Poole, founding chair of the Vancouver Organizing Committee for the 2010 Olympic and Paralympic Winter Games, will be honoured with the Canadian Olympic Order. The Saskatchewan native died peacefully following a valiant battle with pancreatic cancer on October 23. Poole played an incredibly active role in the community and received many awards, including an appointment to the Order of Canada and the Order of British Columbia. In mid October, the plaza outside the new Vancouver Convention Centre that will serve as the International Broadcast Centre to the world’s media was named the Jack Poole Plaza in his honour.