Nine divers nominated to Olympic team

MONTREALDiving Canada will nominate nine athletes to the 2012 Canadian Olympic Team. Jennifer Abel (Laval, Que.), Meaghan Benfeito (Montreal, Que.), Alexandre Despatie (Laval, Que.), Roseline Filion (Laval, Que.), Emilie Heymans (Brossard, Que.), Francois Imbeau-Dulac (St-Lazarre, Que.), Riley McCormick (Victoria, B.C.) Reuben Ross (St-Leonard, Que.) and Eric Sehn, (Edmonton, Alta.) will represent Canada in London.

“We are getting so close to London and it is exciting to see the Team grow before our eyes,” said 2012 Canadian Olympic Team Chef de Mission Mark Tewksbury. “The 2012 Canadian Olympic Team will inspire the whole country with how they give their everything in London.”

“I have a soft spot for the diving team, of course,” said 2012 Canadian Olympic Team Assistant Chef de Mission and 1984 Olympic gold medal diver Sylvie Bernier. “You can be proud for having made the Canadian Olympic Team and I can’t wait to see you all compete.”

“I’m very thankful for the incredible support I’ve received from teammates and the countless fans across the country,” said double Olympic medallist Alexandre Despatie. “They have truly made it possible for me to give my everything.”

“I’m very excited to go to my fourth Olympic Games, both in the 3m synchro and individual events,” said three-time Olympic medallist Emilie Heymans. “It’s a great way for me to end my diving career and, whatever happens, I’ll be proud of my 19 years in the sport! I’m looking forward to having an amazing time!”

“The 2012 Canadian Olympic Team will inspire the nation,” said Canadian Olympic Committee President Marcel Aubut. “Our athletes have put in countless hours, perfecting the smallest details of their sport and there is still much work to be done before London. They are our heroes and they will make Canadians proud.”